Register to Vote
Registering to vote gives you the opportunity to participate in local, state, and federal elections.
In Rhode Island, you must be registered to vote 30 days before an election to participate.
To register (or pre-register) to vote, you must be:
- A citizen of the United States
- A resident of the Rhode Island city or town where you wish to vote
- At least 16 years of age (but you must be at least 18 years of age to vote.)
You may not register to vote if:
- There is a written court order stating that you cannot vote. (If you have a legal guardian, you can vote unless the guardianship order specifically suspends your right to vote.)
- You are incarcerated in a correctional facility upon a felony conviction. Once out of prison, your voting rights will automatically be restored if you were registered to vote when you entered the correctional facility. If you were not registered, you can exercise your right to vote by either notifying your local board of canvassers in writing or by submitting a new voter registration form.
How to register to vote:
When you visit the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you can easily register to vote while completing DMV forms. Unless you opt-out, you are automatically registered to vote while completing DMV forms, if eligible.
You can also register to vote using the options below:
When you register to vote, your local board of canvassers will send you an acknowledgement notice at the address associated with your new voter registration. You will also be notified by mail if your registration does not meet the requirements for any reason.
Be sure to contact your local board of canvassers if you do not receive the acknowledgement notice within three weeks of registering to vote. If the Post Office cannot deliver the notice to the address on your voter registration form, your status as a voter will be changed to “inactive” and you may have to provide additional information when voting.