Elections Calendar - 2020 Deadlines for:


  • Presidential Candidates
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Thu, January 23 - Sat, January 25 File Statement of Intent and pick up nomination papers This deadline has passed.
    Thu, February 06 Deadline to submit nomination papers Nomination Papers
    Thu, February 20 Deadline to file objections to nomination papers File with Board of Elections by 4:00 PM
    Tue, February 25 Deadline for decisions on objections for eligibility of Presidential Candidates
    Tue, February 25 Deadline to file affidavit of withdrawal File with Department of State by 4:00 PM
    Tue, March 10 Deadline to file documentation of approval File with Department of State by 4:00 PM
    Wed, March 11 Ballot Placement Lottery State Library at 5:00 pm
    Tue, April 28 Presidential Preference Primary Polling place hours 7:00 am to 8:00 pm, New Shoreham 12 noon to 8:00 pm
    Wed, April 29 Deadline to request recount of votes File with Board of Elections by 4:00 PM
  • Delegate Candidates
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Thu, November 28 - Fri, November 29 Deadline to file disaffiliation from party This deadline has passed.
    Mon, January 27 - Tue, January 28 Deadline to register to vote to be eligible to file Declaration of Candidacy Register to Vote
    Wed, February 26 - Thu, February 27 File Declaration of Candidacy Delegate Declaration of Candidacy 2020
    Wed, February 26 - Thu, February 27 File Pledge of Support Pledge of Support
    Thu, February 27 - Fri, February 28 Nomination Papers ready Nomination Papers
    Tue, March 03 Deadline to submit Nomination Papers File with Local Boards of Canvassers by 4:00 PM
    Mon, March 09 Deadline to file objections to Nomination Papers File with Board of Elections by 4:00 PM
    Tue, March 10 Deadline to file documentation of approval File with Department of State by 4:00 PM
    Tue, March 10 Deadline to file affidavit of withdrawal File with Department of State by 4:00 PM
    Wed, March 11 Ballot Placement Lottery State Library at 5:00 pm
    Thu, March 12 Deadline for decisions on objections for eligibility of Delegate Candidates
    Tue, April 28 Presidential Preference Primary Polling place hours 7.00am to 8.00pm, New Shoreham 12 noon to 8.00pm
    Wed, April 29 Deadline to request recount of votes File with Board of Elections by 4:00 PM
  • Voters
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Mon, March 16 Deadline to apply for a Braille or tactile ballot for the Primary Braille or Tactile Ballot Application
    Sun, March 29 Deadline to register to vote Register to Vote
    Sun, March 29 Deadline for voters to disaffiliate from party Voter Disaffiliation
    Tue, April 07 Last day to submit a mail ballot application for the Presidential Preference Primary Mail Ballot Application - Primary
    Wed, April 08 - Mon, April 27 Emergency mail ballot voting period Applications will be Available in 2020
    Tue, April 28 Deadline to return voted mail ballots Not later than 8:00pm
    Tue, April 28 Presidential Preference Primary Polling Place hours 7:00 AM to 8:00 PM, New Shoreham 12 noon - 8:00 pm
  • Department of State
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Tue, January 07 Deadline for certification of delegates from state party committees
    Tue, January 07 Deadline for party rules
    Thu, January 23 - Sat, January 25 Period to receive Statements of Intent - Presidential Candidates
    Thu, January 23 - Sat, January 25 Prepare Nomination Papers - Presidential Candidates
    Wed, February 19 Deadline for certified nomination papers - Presidential Candidates
    Tue, February 25 Deadline for affidavit of withdrawal - Presidential Candidates
    Wed, February 26 - Thu, February 27 Period to receive Declaration of Candidacy - Delegate Candidates
    Thu, February 27 - Fri, February 28 Prepare Nomination Papers - Delegate Candidates
    Fri, March 06 Deadline for certified Nomination Papers - Delegate Candidates
    Tue, March 10 Deadline for documentation of approval
    Tue, March 10 Deadline for affidavit of withdrawal - Delegate Candidates
    Wed, March 11 Ballot Placement Lottery State Library at 5.00pm
    Fri, April 10 Deadline for certifications of mail ballot applications
    Tue, April 28 Presidential Preference Primary Polling place hours 7:00am to 8:00pm, New Shoreham 12 noon to 8:00pm
    Thu, April 30 Receive certificates of nomination
  • Board of Elections
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Thu, February 20 Deadline to receive objections to nomination papers - Presidential Candidates
    Tue, February 25 Deadline for decisions on objections - Presidential Candidates
    Mon, March 09 Deadline to receive objections to nomination papers - Delegate Candidates
    Thu, March 12 Deadline for decisions on objections - Delegate Candidates
    Tue, April 28 Presidential Preference Primary Polling place hours 7:00am to 8:00pm, New Shoreham 12 noon to 8:00pm
    Wed, April 29 Deadline to receive requests for recount of votes
    Thu, April 30 File certified copies of certificates of nomination
  • Local Board of Canvassers
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Sat, November 28 - Sun, November 29 Deadline to file disaffiliation - Delegate Candidates
    Mon, January 27 - Tue, January 28 Deadline to register to vote - Delegate Candidates Register to Vote
    Thu, February 06 Deadline for nomination papers - Presidential Candidates
    Wed, February 19 Deadline for certified nomination papers - Presidential Candidates
    Tue, March 03 Deadline for nomination papers - Delegate Candidates
    Fri, March 06 Deadline for certified nomination papers - Delegate Candidates
    Mon, March 16 Deadline to apply for a Braille or tactile ballot for the Primary Braille or Tactile Ballot Application
    Sun, March 29 Deadline to register to vote Register to Vote
    Sun, March 29 Deadline for voters to disaffiliate from party Voter Disaffiliation
    Tue, April 07 Last day to submit a mail ballot application for the Presidential Preference Primary Application will be Available in 2020
    Tue, April 07 Deadline to conduct Final Canvass for the Presidential Preference Primary
    Wed, April 08 - Mon, April 27 Emergency mail ballot voting period Application will be Available in 2020
    Fri, April 10 Deadline to certify mail ballot applications
    Tue, April 28 Presidential Preference Primary Polling place hours 7:00am to 8:00pm, New Shoreham 12 noon to 8:00pm
  • Political Parties and State Party Chairs
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Tue, January 07 Deadline to file certification of state party delegates This deadline has passed.
    Tue, January 07 Deadline for filing party rules This deadline has passed.
    Tue, March 10 Deadline for documentation of approval File with Department of State by 4:00pm
    Wed, March 11 Ballot Placement Lottery State Library at 5:00pm
    Tue, April 28 Presidential Preference Primary Polling place hours 7:00am to 8:00pm, New Shoreham 12 noon to 8:00pm
    Thu, April 30 Obtain certified copies of election results from Baord of Elections
  • SPECIAL ELECTION – STATE REPRESENTATIVE – DISTRICT 56
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Sat, September 28 Deadline for candidates to disaffiliate This deadline has passed.
    Mon, December 23 Deadline to apply for Braille/Tactile Ballot- Primary This deadline has passed.
    Thu, December 26 - Fri, December 27 Declaration of Candidacy filing period This deadline has passed.
    Mon, December 30 Deadline to file district committee endorsements This deadline has passed.
    Sun, January 05 Deadline to register to vote - Primary This deadline has passed.
    Mon, January 06 Deadline for voters to disaffiliate This deadline has passed.
    Tue, January 07 Deadline to submit nomination papers to the local BOC This deadline has passed.
    Wed, January 08 Deadline to file objections to nomination papers
    Wed, January 08 Deadline to file withdrawals of candidacy This deadline has passed.
    Thu, January 09 Local BOC certifies candidates to the Department of State
    Tue, January 14 Deadline to apply for a mail ballot - Primary This deadline has passed.
    Wed, January 15 - Mon, February 03 Emergency mail ballot voting period Emergency Mail Ballot Application available soon
    Tue, January 21 Deadline for to apply for a Braille/Tactile Ballot -Election This deadline has passed.
    Sun, February 02 Deadline to register to vote- Election Register to Vote
    Mon, February 03 Last day to apply for an Emergency Mail Ballot - Primary Emergency Mail Ballot Application available soon
    Tue, February 04 Primary Polling place hours 7:00 am to 8:00 pm
    Tue, February 11 Deadline to apply for a mail ballot – Election Mail Ballot Application - Election
    Wed, February 12 - Mon, March 02 Emergency mail ballot voting period Emergency Mail Ballot Application available soon
    Mon, March 02 Last day to apply for an Emergency Mail Ballot – Election Emergency Mail Ballot Application available soon
    Tue, March 03 Election Polling place hours 7:00 am to 8:00 pm
  • PROVIDENCE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL ELECTION
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Tue, February 11 Deadline to apply for a mail ballot - Primary Mail Ballot Application - Primary
    Tue, March 03 Primary Polling place hours 7.00am to 8.00pm, New Shoreham 12 noon to 8.00pm
    Tue, March 17 Deadline to apply for a mail ballot - Election Mail Ballot Application - Election
    Tue, April 07 Election Polling place hours 7:00 am to 8:00 pm
  • Statewide Primary - September 2020
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
  • General Election - November 3, 2020
    Key Date(s) Event Forms