2020 Election Dates and Deadlines!


  • General Election - November 3, 2020
    Key Date(s) Event Forms
    Tue, March 24 - Thu, March 26 Deadline to file disaffiliation for candidates This deadline has passed.
    Sat, May 23 - Mon, May 25 Deadline to register to vote in order to file a Declaration of Candidacy This deadline has passed.
    Mon, June 22 - Wed, June 24 Declaration of Candidacy filing period This deadline has passed.
    Thu, June 25 Deadline to file district committee endorsements This deadline has passed.
    Tue, June 30 Nominaton papers ready to be picked up This deadline has passed.
    Fri, July 10 Deadline to submit nomination papers This deadline has passed.
    Mon, July 13 Deadline to file objections - Local offices This deadline has passed.
    Mon, July 13 Deadline to file withdrawals - Local offices This deadline has passed.
    Wed, July 15 Deadline for decisions on objections to candidates - Local offices This deadline has passed.
    Fri, July 17 Ballot Placement Lottery - Primary and General Election This deadline has passed.
    Fri, July 17 Deadline to file objections for candidates - Federal and State offices This deadline has passed.
    Fri, July 17 Deadline for withdrawals of candidates - Federal and State offices This deadline has passed.
    Mon, July 20 Deadline for decisions on objections to candidates - Federal and State offices
    Mon, July 27 Deadline to submit Braille or Tactile mail ballot applications This deadline has passed.
    Sun, August 09 Deadline to register to vote - Primary This deadline has passed.
    Tue, August 11 Deadline to file disaffiliation - Primary Voters This deadline has passed.
    Tue, August 18 Deadline to submit mail ballot applications - Primaries Mail Ballot Application
    Wed, August 19 Early In-Person Voting Period begins Contact your local Board of Canvassers
    Fri, September 04 Deadline to submit nomination papers - presidential electors for Independent Presidential Candidates Nomination Papers
    Tue, September 08 Party Primaries Polling Places
    Tue, September 08 Early In-Person Voting Period Ends 4:00 p.m.
    Tue, September 08 Deadline to receive mail ballots Due by 8:00 p.m.
    Wed, September 09 Deadline to submit recount requests Due by 4:00 pm
    Fri, September 11 Deadline to file objections to nomination papers -Presidential Electors for Independent Presidential Candidates Due by 4:00 pm
    Fri, September 11 Deadline for nomination withdrawals - Presidential Electors for Independent Presidential Candidiates Due by 4:00 pm
    Fri, September 11 Ballot placement lottery - Presidential Electors for Independent Presidential Candidates 5:00 p.m. State Library - RI State House
    Mon, September 14 Deadline for decisions on objections to candidates - Presidential Electors for Independent Presidential Candidates
    Mon, September 21 Deadline to submit Braille or Tactile mail ballot application Braille/Tactile Application
    Sun, October 04 Deadline to register to vote - General Election Register to Vote
    Tue, October 13 Deadline to submit mail ballot applications - General Election Mail Ballot Application
    Wed, October 14 Early In-Person Voting Period begins Contact your local Board of Canvassers
    Mon, November 02 Early In-Person Voting Period ends 4:00 p.m.
    Tue, November 03 General Election Polling Place